Presenting an offer

I am new to the wholesaling market. As a newbie I understand I can do an assignment with FSBO very easily. However where I feel a little confused is how do I make an offer to the home owner? Also how do I know that the home is below 70% market value just to be sure? Does this mean the comps would tell me what the average house in the area for fair market value would be? Once I figure that part out do I make a verbal offer or written offer in a contract style to the owner? What do you recommend? FYI I don’t want to over think it I just want a clear understanding how it works from finding the house to making the offer correctly. Thanks!

Hey Blocke, you have asked probably the most difficult question that I have come across in my wholesaling business. And it’s not easy to answer. For me I had to learn what houses were going for in each area and I’m often wrong.
I start off with Zillow and it’s usually not very accurate but sometimes it’s close and it’s a good starting point. Then I get the tax records and the county places a tax value on the property and it’s usually not accurate but sometimes is.
But the tax records has a lot of valuable info, like when the house was built, the square footage, when was the house sold last and that price.
But still it’s a big guessing game.
If the homeowner calls and says I just remolded, it was appraised for 280K and I want to sell if the price is right. Tell him to call a Realtor and get off the phone quick.
If the homeowner says my house needs a lot of work and I can’t afford to fix it, run like hell over to check it out.
If the neighborhood is full of graffiti and scary looking gang members standing in the front yards giving you the stare down your offer is going to be 20% of ARV, if it’s a good working class older neighborhood your offer will be 40-60% of ARV depending on the condition…
It’s a learning curve and I heard many newbie investors never get started because of this.