How does one learn how to build homes?

Are there courses offered?

In NJ, it’s just a matter of getting the builder’s permit/insurance/warranty and voila - you can build a home.

But is there any formal training recommendations?

[quote author=inve$t_ link=topic=57998.msg278601#msg278601 date=1455163894]
Are there courses offered?

In NJ, it’s just a matter of getting the builder’s permit/insurance/warranty and voila - you can build a home.

But is there any formal training recommendations?

[/quote

Self-educate, read the building codes so you know you’re doing it legally, learn from someone who does…

Two months ago, I didn’t know how to use a pressure washer, now I run a pressure washing company…

Be willing to learn from someone who already knows…

Hi,

It's a lot more than can easily be explained in writing. I sent you a personal message (PM) through the REI Club message system.

GR

Try this…

Get a general contractors license… (I have no idea your work experience, but it takes 4 years of combined work and school in Florida to get one, and this includes self-employment)…

Then build the houses for the cost of materials plus whatever labor you have to hire. But since you would be looking to make money as the home builder and not the contractor, you could bid the whole job for $0 profit to the contractor, and as we all know, contractors will rip you off at every step of the way if you let them.

What better contractor to trust than yourself?

Better yet… hire some employees who already know how to build houses and learn from them.

It’s really not that hard to build a house from scratch. I know a bunch of alcoholics that can do it. You just have to do it a few times. Reading some books might help, too and it depends on how fast of a learner you are.

?

Get a contractors license so you don’t have to pay a contractor.

Build for the cost of materials plus labor and permits.

Since you are the contractor, there is no contractor taking some of your profits.