The Reason Most Never Buy a Tax Lien or Tax Deed: Due Diligence

Tax Lien and Tax Deed Due Diligence

When I first started my research into buying tax deeds and tax liens; I found numerous resources that could teach me about the different ways to make money in this area. Some were very valuable and others were not. After about a month I felt I had enough knowledge in the area and I set out to gather the data on an upcoming auction.

My background; I am a tech geek somewhat, and I have developed systems for the mortgage industry that help streamline a process. Several years ago, I built a system that would extract current status of real estate taxes, and provide a paid and/or delinquent status to lenders nationwide. While I was doing this I was amazed at the number of liens, and deeds that were going to auction. Billions of dollars were on the table each year. This is what led me to begin my research into finding a better way to purchase liens and deeds nationwide.

I first had to locate an auction in my area. If I was going to research a property and bid in person I did not want to travel too far. I found that in some areas the auctions were held annually, and in my particular area the next auction would not be held for several months. This extra time allowed me to research the process even more, and begin to develop a system that would save me time and in turn money.

I started with a simple database and through my other systems that I had previously developed I was able to find the auction, gather the information (typically only a Parcel number and minimum bid amount), and then add to the data provided by the county.

This is where I could see a huge benefit. Here are the steps in the process for a typical person looking to buy a tax lien or tax deed.

Locate the County and determine the date of the next auction (not that easy).