Beating An Agent

Hello All,

I have been flipping for the last several years, and within the last 12 months ran into a problem with a realtor/investor. It seems every time I go up against him, he wins. Sometimes the listing is in his office with another agent and other times it is with another company It seems odd to me because after I submit an offer the next thing I hear is that I did not get the house. There is no counter offer, no highest and best, nothing except for denial. All other times, I would get something that says, “Multiple Offers, Highest and Best.”

Is there a way to counter this? Has anybody else experienced this? Should I look into other means of finding properties?

Been there. Done that.

This would make me suspicious that the agent has already signed to buy the property, or brought in a buyer, before listing the property. This happens all the time where I’m at.

As a result, you’re making offers on sold properties.

You could do some homework, and find out who the sellers were on these phantom listings. If it’s the same seller, and he’s got more to sell, I would warm up to him, and get the inside track.

Otherwise, find out who the listing agent is (if not the agent you’re fighting over deals with). Make friends with ‘that’ agent, and let him know you’re a buyer. Also, if you’re flipping property it would be real smart to figure out who the buyers were, and get them on your list of buyers…

You should be doing this with all the agents that are in control of these steal deals. Your name should be on ‘their’ buyer’s list.

Otherwise, you want to be prospecting for your own deals, and not depending solely on the MLS.

I was taught to make friends with the ‘gatekeeper’ agents if I wanted to get first crack at the investment quality deals. One way I’ve found is to scour Craigslist. Many agents will advertise pre-listed properties there, hoping to find buyers before they’re forced to list them, and potentially split their commissions.