1st time home buyer. Have some Qs

First and foremost, I’m a 1st time home buyer, and I don’t have some cash saved up right now…
So I’m currently thinking of getting a house and get it rented (my future goal)… I know wholesaling is great for beginners, but is it a good idea to be a landlord?

Some info about me:
I’m a college student in Socal, with some income for I work part time. I will transfer to a university in about a year…
If i do get a house, I could use that house as my dorm, and have the other room rented for other students… Should I?

I think buying a house while you are in college and renting out the other rooms is a good idea. The only thing to bear in mind is that you have to screen your roommates pretty hard. He has to be able to pay the rent but also needs to be compatible with you. You don’t want a guy that can’t sleep without the radio on if you need quiet or never studies and watches tv loud when you have finals to study for. You don’t want a guy that hits on your girlfriend every time she comes by or dates a girl you can’t resist hitting on. Also if you rent to a friend of yours that is a great way to turn your best friend into a person you hope you never see again.
In other words you turn a purely financial evaluation into a lifestyle question also.

Great points! When I created this thread, I completely overlooked the points you stated…
A duplex might solve this, and instead of a college student, it could be a small family/couple with steady cash flow.
I will definitely keep in mind your closing sentence.

It’s a good idea that you buy a house and let the other rooms to be rented… You’re living in your own house and at the same time your earning money… :beer

Out of curiousity, how are you going to do this with no money?

JP

Through creative financing?? I could probably do seller financing or some other no down to little down financing…
I’m going to a REI club meeting in a about 6 hours, and I really hope to learn a lot from them…