Searching for the rental formula for success in my area

Investors,

I’ve done a lot of thinking on my own and I need some help to continue.

In my market I’m seeing a lot of opportunities for 2/1 SFHs as rentals. It’s a town with a very stable rental market. These rentals (2/1s) can go anywhere from 550 to 650/mo depend on amenities (w/d? dishwasher? pets? etc). I need to figure out what their purchase price should be.

I’ve never done this before and I want to structure deals where I can flip a few to other investors and then purchase a few myself for cash flow. I’ll put in the work to negotiate the prices, but I need make attractive investments. There’s a ton of these properties going up! I just need to figure out the formula and there’ll a lot of work for me to do providing rentals for cash buyers then acquiring my own later in the summer/fall. I need to figure out what my purchase price is… for me and for a cash-buyer.

Please include any input you have!

Here’s an example:

Gross Income 550 x 12 = 6600
Other Income 0
Total Gross 6600
Less Vacancy (10%) (660)

Effective Gross Income 5940

Expenses
Taxes 540
Insurance 300
Water/Sewer 0
Garbage 0
Electricity 0
Licenses 0
Advertising* 50
Maintenance* 600
Mgmt 650
Accounting/Legal* 100
Misc. 0
Gas 0
Telephone 0
Budget for replacements* 600

Total Expenses 2840

NOI 3100

Debt Service (P 55k, 3.5%) (3000)

Cash flow 100 =(

anything with a * I made up. This uses a total of $800 for mgmt costs and $1200 towards repairs and a budget for future repairs, both of which I made up because I don’t know what the experts assume.

I feel like I’m doing something wrong because I was once told you debt needs to be 50% of your GRI. Am I mistaken?

Any input on what a 2/1 rental cashflow sheet should look like? I want these to cashflow $2000/year.