Massachusetts

Is there anyone from Massachusetts and what is your thought on the softening market?

Heidi,

I’m not sure where in Mass you are, but my fiancee and I just moved from Boston to CT last year leaving most of our family behind (though we’re just 90 miles away). The Boston area is not softening very much as of last summer, but I suspect it has slowed a bit. It’s still too pricey for me – though the Mattapan area may be shooting up very soon.

Erik

Hi Erik
Thanks for the reply, I’m a newbie here just taking all this in. I’m from S.E. Mass.
The market has slowed down a bit. I’m a Realtor just getting back into the business & miss the multy offers.
I’m looking to start some long term investments to hold onto untill retirement & also land development.
Any advise for a newbie?
Thanks
Heidi

Heidi,

Not being too familiar with SE Mass though I have family who live in Dartmouth/New Bedford area, I would say find the niche for the area. If long-term is what you’re interested in, the best way to start in my humble opinion is through buying multis and renting them. Especially in Mass where many rent because it’s so difficult to own (and many college students!). With that said, Mass is tough state to landlord in which makes having an effective and efficient lawyer mandatory. I’ve been fortunate because my grilfriend is about to finish law school and has been very helpful.

I’m not sure how land development would work in SE Mass - all I know is it doen’t work at all in the Boston area and north.

Nice meeting you and good luck with everything…

Erik

I’m originally from Western Mass but haven’t lived there in 25+ years (still have family there, though)…