Funding my own repairs.. better idea?

I know the ideal that’s taught is to use someone else’s money completely. But other people’s money comes at high interest for these short term loans. I’m willing to do that for the purchase price.

But what about repair money? Since I have about $25K at my disposal, wouldn’t it be better to borrow from myself at zero interest or paperwork for the Repairs fund? It just seems to me that whether borrowing from a bank or myself, either way there’s risk… but with my own money, no hefty interest attached. What do you guys think?

No do not use your own money! I have been doing rehabs for two years and I have made a few mistakes and using my money was one of them. Typically $25,000 is not a lot when your doing a rehab. You want to save your money for a back up fund if anything goes wrong. Typically hard money lenders will want to see that you have a reserve fund to pay them and lenders are more likely to lend you money when you already have money.LOL Get the loan up front and use your money for any cost over runs.

On my current rehab I spent 1 month dealing with banks that DO NOT like rehabs, they are more apt to invest in new construction. Another month was spent talking to Mortgage brokers and the last month working with HML and we were almost broke. We got our deal approved this week and we should close soon.

You still have to buy right and work off a realistic budget. My budgeting has been pretty good and I have been very close. If you buy right then paying the HML is not a problem. Typically time can work against you.

There are also some fix and flip programs that will not accept you if you purchase the property with out them. This can open up some issues with some banks and loan companies concerning the seasoning of the loan. They like to see the original mortgage in place for a year before they lend any additional money on it.

:-
There is still a lot me to learn, you can learn from my mistakes.
Good Luck!
NDI