What should I do with 200K?

I’m a newbie and I’ve always wanted to become a real estate investor. I’ve taken real estate courses, read a ton of books, read the weekly real estate section of the paper for years, followed this blog regularly and met/talked with real estate agents. The time is right to take the plunge now.

I have 200K cash to do whatever I want with. I’m planning to open an LLC. I’m not sure which direction to go as I’ve never done any real estate investing. I am leaning towards flips just to get my feet wet. Another option is to buy and hold.

I’m located in Southern CA and would love to get some advice. I’m in dire need of a mentor who can help me to become successful. I’m eager to learn and I have a lot of time on my hands. I have no family obligations.

I would appreciate any advice or guidance you can give me,.

Southern California is tough. First I would find out what works there and do that. I would go to one of the local real estate investor’s clubs and find out what actually works there.

Thanks Bluemoon. I did try that several months ago. I contacted 2 of the local REI clubs and neither one of them got back to me so I gave up.

You don’t want to talk to them anyway. You want to talk to people actually doing it in your town. I was finishing up a rehab and had placed the house in the local paper for rent or owner finance. I got a call through that ad from a woman that said she could tell from the ad that I was an investor and wanted to know if I would tell her how I did what I did. I was really impressed with her smarts and told her yes. I met with her at the house and told her how I do what I do, what vendors I use etc. You might try that. If one doesn’t want to bother with you there are bound to be dozens of investors working in your area. I would talk to any and all of them to see which ones you have a real affinity with. Who knows it may even lead to some business relationship.