I am in trouble with my Multi Family investment.

I work in the financial industry and my first and second mortgage rates are about to skyrocket according the companies. I will be losing money on the property as I was barely breaking even before. I do not want to lose my job by doing a short sale or foreclosure can anyone recommend anything that might work? Thanks in advance.

The bigger the investment property the more likely the bank will modify the loan. The more money owed the more likely they will adjust.

Can you show low/no equity in the project due to a market change? Local vacancy rate dip, etc?

I know two multifamily owners with practically no equity in the project that were able to successfully renegotiate the interest rates. One was 72 units. Another was 222 units.

Frankly, you’re gonna have to be ready to play hard ball with these people. You’ll find that they don’t care what you’re problem is… So, you’re likely going to have to “make” them care. That could mean deliberately missing a payment… or be severely late… which will get their attention.

I’m not sure how to respond to your employment being tied to the financing, but I’m getting that your job is tied to your credit, and you are personally liable for the loan. Well, reality is reality. If the project is going down, and taking you with it, what choice do you have here, except to go for broke in securing a loan mod?

All things being equal …the old saying that, “He who cares least wins” would be the mantra of the day for you. On paper, if it suits you, it’s better to make sure the bank knows you “care less” than they do. After all, who’s actually apt to lose more? The bank, or you? I would say the bank, but you would know better.

I feel your pain.

I have been doing a lot of research that missing a payment will not do anything to help with a loan mod is this not true I have heard that it just hurts your credit.