New To the Game

Hello All,

I have been looking at investing in a home in the city where I went to college but, I am a little concerned. The house is beautiful, has 5 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms, a yard, a big kitchen and a gorgeous living room. The problem is I have only heard horror stories about college rentals. My goal would be to keep the home as long as possible and eventually, in the far off future, use it for a vacation home for my family and I.

Can anyone tell me some pros and cons to renting to college kids? This is my first time investing and I am just unsure.

Thanks!

First thing to consider is it in an area where you can rent to college students? I know that in some small college towns there are city ordinances that prohibit more than 2 nonfamily members from renting a house.

Up your deposit requirements to the maximum allowed by law, screen really well and target your rental audience to students who are seniors or working on master/phd’s.

College towns are great for renting to adjunct faculty, visiting professors, etc. Beware the undergrad!

Undergrads can be fine too. You don’t want nice places or more than 2 bedrooms.

I like undergrads because they are jointly and severally liable. Somebody’s parents will pay the whole thing to keep their kid from getting evicted.

Never owned any myself though, too expensive. Just managed them for other people.

I think you can minimize the horror stories you’ve been hearing about by carefully screening your tenants. Look for a responsible renter so you won’t have any troubles in the end.