Beginner question: landlording

Hello everyone,

I am very new to the idea of real estate investing. I am rather interested in buying an apartment or house and then renting it out. I know the current market is very difficult and there are lots of delinquencies, but maybe that also creates opportunities.

My beginner questions are many, but here are a few:

1. Does a particular type of property better suit this goal (house, condo, apartment)?

2. I cannot personally do fixes or refurbish it. So does that exclude foreclosed places?

3. What should be estimated as an average foreclosed discount on a place?

4. Any good recommended learning sources for a total newbie?

5. What amount of cash is needed to start with my fisrt property? High and low estimates?

Thanks guys

Welcome!
Here’s my point of view on your questions:

1. Houses - Easy to rent since most people would rather have their own space and not neighbors on the other side of the wall. Easier to get rid of if you find that you don’t like being a LL or have to get rid of the property for financial reasons.
    Condos - Have association fees that can get pretty expensive. The association can also do an assessment and force all the owners to pay a certain amount of money for repairs to the property as a whole. On the Gulf Coast, there have been condo buildings where the association assessed all the owners for $40k each or more for hurricane damage. This amount is over and above the insurance coverage for the building.
    Apartments - Can be easy to rent. Economy of scale. Have one roof vs. a roof on each house you own. Harder to get financing for because anything over 5 units is commercial and falls under different lending requirements. Usually require more of a down payment than houses. Can be harder to get rid of if you need to because your buyer pool is smaller. Not everyone wants to own apartments like they do for a single house.