Is being a bird dog legal? If so, how?

I just read this article that basically said bird dogging was largely illegal and unethical. Link to the article: http://www.johntreed.com/birddog.html

I just wanted to ask the community what your thoughts were. I am a real estate newbie scheduled to attend my first REI club meeting in a few weeks. My intention was to find someone that I could scout for in exchange for some mentoring, but now I’m not so sure that would even work given what was discussed in the article.

ohgreat,

Glad to meet you.

The local Real Estate Boards impose regulation relevant to the distribution or aid in distribution of a homestead with the intent to protect the consumer (and in some rare cases monopolize the marketplace)

Whether or not this legislation is put into place in a criminal or a civil context, it does appear fairly evident that the enforcement of this legislation would be limited to that of:

a) When a consumer is being blind-sided (ie: you are acting on his or her behalf without proper licensing and steering him/her wrong)

b) You are continuously taking a “fee” for selling real estate.

If you are working with an investor, and you are paid by the investor, who has experience in real estate transactions, and you are not party to that transaction (ie: a consultant) you should, be ok, for the following reasons:

1. You are taking a fee for selling information, not real estate (nobody can prevent you from charging $5.00 to tell him or her were the nearest gas station is, or where the nearest “deal” is)

2. Even if legislation was in place to protect the consumer, you have conducted no harm to the consumer…so in a semi-perfect world, you can indeed pay for a lead on a house!