Experienced Investors - which course?

Well I am a college student and new at real estate investing. My college teaches both Appraisal and Home Inspection classes, and I was wondering if it would be better to take these classes offered from my school or invest in a home study course that was actually made from a real estate investor? I would imagine the one made from the Investor is probably better.

Also there is this book called “How To Analyze Your Market and Your Deal” its by Tim Randle. I am really wanting to get this book, or do you think an Economics class teaching supply and demand would be just fine?

I believe in learning at least a little bit about something before diving right in.

Please do not try and talk me out of these choices, just if at all possible give me some insight on which route I should go. Thanks for your help.

Take the classes on appraisal and home inspection from the college. It will be just as good, if not better, plus you have the benefit of having a real live teacher to answer your questions. Definitely better.

An economics class teaching supply and demand will NOT teach you how to analyze your market and definitely not teach you how to analyze your deal. If you’re interested in that, buy the book.

Roger

Well I won’t try to talk you out of any choices but I will provide my humble opinion. Appraisers and home inspectors are NOT investors. Those are employments (no different from being a doctor or electrician). If you want to be an appraiser/home inspector and invest on the side, take the course. That knowledge will only help your real estate endeavors. You don’t need to take those courses to be a rei though.