Newbie Need Help FAST!!!!

I’m a newbie in REI. But I think this could be a wonderful opportunity. Here is the case. A couple has a home that has a 49K mortgage. I did some online value searchs and the homes in that area go for about $80K. The property has the following problems. It sits in a flood zone, mold, plumbing and foundation issues. The owner is going to let the property go into foreclosure and just walk away from it. They are open to anything I want to do. They just want out of the property.

My qustion is what can I do?

I’m not at sure this is a good deal. How much will it cost to repair the mold, plumbing, and foundation issues? How much to rehab the property? What do you plan to do with the property? If it is to be a rental, what are the rents? How much is flood insurance for this property?

Yeah, that is what I thought. But the couple is willing to do anything. Even give me power of attorney if need be…hmmmmm.

Should I try to point another investor to this? Maybe “we buy houses any condition”

For what purpose? You don’t seem to know any of the answers to the questions I asked. It’s impossible to determine if this is a deal for anyone without knowing the details.

If I had a 1994 Yugo (junky car) that I owed $10,000 on, but I was willing to do anything to get you to buy it at $10,000, including giving you power of attorney, is that a good deal? Would another car buyer want this deal?

Wes. I’d walk away from this. Since you said you’re a newbie, I assume you don’t have the expertise to fix the plumbing, foundation and mold yourself. If you have to hire the work out, you could be over the $80K average price for the homes before you know it. I don’t see where you can profit from this. But you need to know the answers to a few questions.

1. How much will it cost to repair the house?
  2. What are the “comps” ( actual house sale)?
  3. Where are you getting the financing?
  4. What do you want to do with the property?