Listing House on MLS while still negotiating short sale

Recently the Realtors that we work with regularly on our short sale business have taken their active listings down on homes where we are still negotiating the short sale with the lender. They state that it is illegal for them to have an offer under contract when we have not yet gotten short sale approval from the bank. Further, they now state that with the new laws taking effect in 2010, that they cannot even list the house on MLS until we have owned the home for 90 days. Does anyone else know anything about the laws surrounding this issue? I mostly concerned with the issue of marketing the property while the short sale is still being negotiated. We fully disclose in our purchase and sales agreement that we are an LLC and intend to buy and sell the house for a profit.

That doesnt sound correct… As a Broker I havent heard anything like that out here in California

I agree, this don’t sound correct. Part of the banks short sale requirements is that the house be listed. We do this 2 ways, we can have have the current home owner sign the list agreement or we will. We use an option contract, file the option with the county clerk, then we have interest in the property. This also serves as a little failsafe because if the short sale don’t go thru and the bank takes the house back they have to have us remove are option before they can sell the property. The only way we will remove the option is if the bank pays us.

Zoebear,

I’m an agent in Texas and although each state can have different laws and I can only speak about Texas, there really shouldn’t be any difference based on your question…The question is really simple, although in a couple of parts.