Working a US bank 2nd - Stubborn folks (not a good place to get a mortgage?)

Here’s the deal. I have a Citimortage 1st who is saying the most they will allow for payoff to the 2nd is 10% of what is owed on the second. US Bank summarily rejected my first offer, for $2,500 (wouldn’t even counter), and they didn’t smile on my second offer - at 10% – which was around $2250 – $250 less!

They seem bound and determined to punish the borrower for ever having taken out a loan in the first place, although the sheriff’s sale could take place anytime after Dec 28th. I suppose I could raise the offer to the 2nd, but without knowing in advance “here is what it’s going to take to get a partial release”, it’s a crap shoot. And, of course, any overage to the 2nd will have to come out of the settlement to the 1st, or another turnip in the transaction. (The Realtor is out - don’t even think about it! I’m not working this file as the investor, I’m just a lowly Realtor. :lol: )

Anyone have any experience working these 2nd mortgage liens with US Bank? Maybe my next step is to show them the inventory listing for a soon to be executed BK-7 filing?

There isn’t enough information to answer the question. It depends on the equity in the deal. If there’s no equity in the deal then i wouldn’t waste the time, but if there is equity the way it sits it may be worth making up the back payments and cashing out of the house.

Some more background may be in order. First, there is no equity in the deal, except perhaps for the buyer, and that would be only a couple thousand because of the power of a cash offer.

The property is worth $132K, at best. With an extra motivated buyer, on a sunny day and flowers blooming in the lawn, it might sell for $135K.