FHA 90-day rule

Hi guys,

Question: I have a short sale and the lender is FHA. I am looking only to purchase it with cash and resale to an end buyer, does that mean I have to hold this property for 90-days if I am buying with cash?

Could someone explain the 90-day rule please so I am clear. :help
Thanks.

The 90 day rule regarding FHA applies to the title seasoning period, meaning the period of ownership between owners. When you buy the property, (cash or otherwise) and your end buyer is using FHA financing, your name must be on title for a minimum of 90 days before FHA will fund the resale to your end buyer. Make sense?

Isn’t that only if we are earning more than 20% above our purchase price?

Just create a trust and deed the property to the trust. Then sell the trust the buyer.

Hi,

I am a newbie here and as far as I know it is important to this rule thoroughly as, it is actually for 91 days that is the key point of this rule is if I buy the house today and want to resell it to the buyer than I have to wait from today before reselling the property to the buyer.

Thanks!!

Just a small comment, but it’s a good idea to talk with the lender to get the information. I’ve sold a few this way and have always been told that it is 91 days if the property is being sold FHA…OK, but there is a small issue and that is that NOTHING can even be dated until the 91st day and that includes the purchase contract and the appraisal, which actually means that it will take over 100 days to sale the property, more like about 110 to 120 days. I have one right now that we’re rehabing and have just started the marketing process and I’m telling people that if they want to move in and get the first time home buyer $8,000 credit and go FHA, we need to find them another home.