Buy Apartments No Money Down

Have anyone successfully bought an apartments using no money down technique?

How easy is it, or what do need to look for and how to structure the deal?

It has been done and it continues to be done. The problem, though, is that it’s not like putting money into a vending machine and selecting an item.

A lot of analysis needs to be done to determine what price to offer, what projections might affect ownership, type of entity(ies) to utilize, motivation of the owner and more.

It isn’t something that I would recommend right-out-of-the-gate. It takes experience, to a degree, but more importantly it takes a lender/broker who understands how to pull it off.

I’m not necessarily tooting my own horn (I am a broker) but you really need to understand what you’re getting into before you take the leap. Most of the no-money-down deals that you might come across most probably will come back to haunt you if you don’t do it right.

Putz,

Did you mean overleverage when doing zero down or owner finance?

How does most people go about 0 down, finding very motivated seller or one that doesn’t need cash up front?

What sort of sellers will do zero down or owner finance?

It’s a case-by-case scenario. You have to look at all angles of the deal: seller’s motivation, income/expenses, bricks/mortar, mechanicals, projections, rent rolls, financial statements (audited) and come up with a number that makes sense to YOU, not them.

If they want $2.2M and you figure it’s worth $1.2M, guess what!!! Either they get real or you walk.

Never get the “gotta-do-a-deal-itis” bug. There will ALWAYS be another deal.

Have any investors in So CA creatively closed any apartment deals in the last 6 months of so?

I have some listing for duplexes and the prices go from mid 400’s +. There is no way to get cashflow. I maybe have to look at less desirable areas for middle/low income apt investment, or check with HUD for multi-unit deals?