Instead of double-closing, why not just hand over an invoice to title company??

I’ve been buying rentals and flipping for a few years. I want to try my hand at wholesaling and am curious about a few things. Let’s assume the following, since this is what I plan to do:

1.Looking at REO properties
2.Cash investor(client)
3.Non-circumvent agreement AND clearly stated fee agreement

Why can I not just put the contract under the investors name instead of doing a double-closing or trying to assign it? On REOs, my understanding is that there are no assignments.

Why not just outline and agree to a fee with my buyer, then draw up an invoice or agreement to give to the title company. Then get paid at closing.

This is only for cash buyers. Any insight? The negatives I see is that the buyer could tell a friend about the deal that isn’t bound by the agreements. I don’t have a RE license, but work very closely with one since I’ve been doing it for a few years.

I’ve thought about doing this as well. Just don’t want to be doing anything illegal.

I’ve heard of using a promissory note and having the seller agree to pay you the difference after closing. Not sure exactly how to go about structuring this though.

In your opinion, what could be illegal about this? I’m in texas by the way, so laws can change from state to state.

Nothing in my eyes; that’s why I’m trying to figure out how to structure something exactly like this. The only thing I would say is make sure you put the house under an option before doing anything else…the option gives you an equitable interest in the property and allows you to legally market without acting as an agent. Let me know if you figure something out…I’d say talk to your attorney, I’m sure they can come up with something.

Here are 3 ways I’ve heard of in getting around the double closing situation:

1. Get a bridge loan and buy the property yourself, the sell it again.