Stock Trading on a Daily/weekly Basis

Hey guys. I wanted to get your thoghts on a NEWBIE with no investing/trading experience to start trading with “disposable money”. I’d like to start doing this. I have no experience whatsoever but I want to learn. I’d like to start with about $500 that I can afford to lose if it happened. For example,

1. I open an online trade account with Scottrade.

2. I invest in a stock. Possibly selling that stock if the price rises to make a small profit later in the day. Granted, the profit may be very small with such a small amount. But the point is to try to get my feet wet and learn by doing.

Please understand that I’m not suggesting that anyone can just jump in and do what RookieNYC and FDJake do. I want to learn how to invest/trade on my own. I want to do the research and make decsions with my own money. Perhaps this can grow from a “hobby” to something where I’m really increasing my net worth. I consider any costs that I pay will be the cost of education. I’m hoping to rely on the experienced members to point me in the right direction. With all that said, do you guys think this is a good idea? Can you give some advice on how I should proceed? I appreciate any help. Thanx.

Phlemboy,

If you want to start trading, I would STRONGLY suggest that you treat it exactly like you did real estate. Do your homework first, before you spend a penny trading. At a minimum, I would suggest buying several books on stock trading, including books on fundamental analysis, technical analysis (candlestick charting, chart patterns, trend lines, channels, etc). Stock trading is MUCH less forgiving than real estate. That $500 could be gone in a week (or a day). You could also learn a lot by subscribing to Telechart 2007 and reading the daily posts of the Worden brothers. It’s about $30 per month.

Good Luck,

Mike