What do I pay for taxes?

If I buy a reo for 10,000 and sell if for 25,000 what will I have to pay uncle sam if its only been mine for a month? Do I pay taxes on 25, or 15,000? I am confused as this is my first year investing?

You are taxed on your profit, $15K in your example. What you will pay is determined by your income tax bracket.

Dave is right, but there’s more to it…

If you buy a REO at $10K, here’s how it can roll-out…

$10K purchase
$25K sale
=$15K GROSS Profit

MINUS

ALL COSTS associate with the purchase, administration and sale of the property (i.e. - financing, lawyer, realtor, accountant, car expenses, title search/insurance, inspections, etc…)

Now, once you minus all that it will leave your NET Profit, which is what is taxed as Capital Gains at your tax level, taking into consideration your regular income AND Net Profit income. This assumes you are not going to roll 100% of the NET Profit from the deal into another property, which you can do with a 1031 Exchange. This defers your tax liability until yo actually realize the NET Profit from a future sale. There are rules regarding this, but also tax advantages that go beyond this and you should schedule time with a tax accountant who specializes in Real Estate (you can find them by visiting your local REI Club).

This site gives a straightforward explanation, including examples, of the the 1031 Exchange…

http://www.sbohexchange.com/P23.cfm

If you don’t have an accountant, MOST will meet with you for free for an initial consultation, but even if they charge you $100, it would be well worth it to put yourself on solid ground on this issue, as they will know the what, when and how of where you live…

Some will even set you up with Quickbooks to make filing easier…

Hope it helps…

What Dave T said is right. You take the $15,000 and take out your tax rate for example 25% ($3750) and both halves of social security 7.65% +7.65 or 15.3% ($2295). So you are taxed a total of $6045.