We apologize, but the forums are closed for new posts. Click Here To Join The Unemployables Facebook Group

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 25, 2022, 11:52:06 am
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 25, 2022, 11:52:06 am
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register

Author Topic: Help! With Wholesale/Assigment Deal  (Read 1553 times)

Offline laprops

Help! With Wholesale/Assigment Deal
« on: October 01, 2007, 01:39:40 pm »
Hello All,
Please help. I am new to real estate investing but I do understand the basics of getting a piece of property under contract and ASSIGNING it to another investor for a small assignment fee. However I am lost when it comes to how this works when the property has an existing mortage on it. For example:

I found a vacant "run down" property in a very desirable section of town in Los Angeles. The comps there for properties that are at least a 95% match to my property are averaging $900,000-1 Million. My subject property has a current loan balance of $677,000 on it and the original loan amount was for $645,000. Obviosuly the owner cannot pay the mortgage and is several months behind. So how does this deal work?

When I make an offer should the offer be discounted from numbers based on the ARV/Comps? Meaning if I want the deal at a 30% discount is it 30% off the ARV/Comps? or is it 30% off what is owed on the loan. Is the below (using ARV/Comp numbers) correct? And should those be the numbers I need to be using?

Here are the numbers:

Seller: Very Motivated & Distressed

Subject Property: ARV $900,000 (Based on reliable comps.)

Current Loan Balance on Property: $677,000

Offer to Motivated Seller: $630,000 (30% off $900,000)

Cost of Repairs To Property: $80,000

Total Cost to Repair & Acquire Property: $710,000

*Selling Price Of Property: $800,000

Profit: $90,000