Why not double or triple your rent?

This is my first time contributing to this very interesting site so I hope this works.

There is a lot of talk about negative cash flow.
My solution is to fully-furnish my rentals. I pay all utilities including high-speed internet and telephone. All my tenants need is a toothbrush!

For this, the rent is double or triple or more that of an unfurnished home.
I have been doing this now for 4 years, and have about 45 furnished rentals.

Would there be a demand for knowledge about this? Am I the only one (other than vacation rental owners) who get much higher rent doing this?

This business started very small. I bought a home with a boarded-up cottage in the back yard and wanted to earn rent from it. I fixed it up and decided I could get about triple the rent if I furnished it. Four years ago, that was $900/mo instead of $300. There was demand, and the business grew.

The work is greater, but so is the rent. I would be interested in any feed-back.

Very interesting topic. It sounds like you’ve found a nice niche market. Do you have any cash flow data to determine how your expenses/cash flow is affected with your model? I’d love to hear your experience on this issue.

Mike

That is seriously interesting…as Mike said, please share some of your details.

To what level is it furnished? Dishes, glasses, bed linens, towels?

Please elaborate further…also, what part of the country are you located in?

So someone IS interested!

I am in a town of 50,000 in the Southwest.
All units are completely furnished–linens, dishes, pots, pans, tv’s microwaves, ironing boards,etc.
The units range from studios to 3-bedroom homes.
Some are owned, and some are leased. People here locally have told me this was a really good idea. There has been a large demand.