Flipping single family vs multi, pros vs cons

Good Day all,

I am new to the web site and forum, so please bear with what may be a ‘101’ question. I am looking to hear both sides of the ‘argument’ as my lender seems convinced that on the whole, multi family flips are safer bets but I find myself passing on seemingly viable single family deals.
Comments please

The first thing you need to know is…WHAT’S SELLING IN YOUR MARKET??

Lenders are NOT real estate investors, they LEND MONEY to real estate investors. I get ASKED more questions by my lenders than I ask them.
Get some data on days on market for single family’s and multi’s.

I don’t know where you are but in my area (New England) I would NOT buy a multifamily now. MY market is LOADED with them and rents are falling through the floor because of all the new UNSOLD Condo projects that are being converted into apartments. It’s very hard to compete with a brand new condo if your trying to rent a secong floor apartment for the same money.

If your a new guy I would advise you to start out with a “paint and carpet rehab” in other words a cosmetic rehab. You better steal it too, because this markets fall is FAR from over. Your first deal HAS TO BE an out of the park GRAND SLAM as far as your BUY IN price. You’re going to make ALL the mistakes on the first one. By being patient and waiting for a GREAT DEAL you can screw up and not get hurt.
The first house you do is like going to 6 years of a business college in 2 months.

Also…price wise??I would absolutley stay in starter home territory. The last thing you want is to buy a home at a price point that requires the sale of ANOTHER HOME in order to close on yours. This is KILLING people in this market. Stay away!!!

Fdjake,