New to board. And Real Esate

Hi. Let me first say I am glad to be a member now. I have learned quite a bit from the posters here. Now, I need to be specific.

I am 26 years old. I bought my first house at the age of 23. When I bought it, I had no idea of doing it for an investment. I needed a place to live. Anyway, it is a peer and beam home. My uncle owned it before me and I bought it from him after he had fixed it up. It is about 900SF 3/1. I live in East Texas and I an confused on what I need to do next. I paid 40k for the house. I owe about 37K. Payments are $425.41 per month at 7.25%. I would guess the house would appraise for 50k or so. But then again, I am new to this. Does this sound like a better platform for a rental property? I have about 2.3 acres with this home. My sister and her husband are very successful in the real estate business and I want a slice of that pie. I really love the house, it is in a very quite neighborhood and the people are great. Not the nicest houses around but pretty well maintained.

Well, now I have to take a step. My sister assures me that the first move into real estate is the most nerve racking but she insist that I just “go for it”. I have my fears, but I need the knowledge to make my first move a smart one. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!