Highest and Best offer

I look to acquire bank owned properites but I keep running into the same hurdle. I look to rehab properties so i usually wait until the property is listed at about 75% of the ARV of the home before I place an offer. I walk the property come up with a number that it will take to bring the property up to market value. I then make my offer at (List- Improvements). So essentially the seller is paying for the improvements. However 95% of my offers get the follow up of " There are number of other offers on the property therefore please submit your highest and best offer" So far I have never increased my offer. Do you guys think there really are other offers and do you guys typically increase your offer?

You’re probably in the same boat as me. I’m a beginner and some things came to light as I searched for a good REO. First, you need good “inside contacts” What I mean is that you need a close relationship with a realtor who can get you leads before they hit the MLS. By the time they are advertised, they are close to market value or junk. The good ones already have an offers on it before it hits the listing.

I just got a succesful bid on a HUD house today. Before that, I got outbid on 1. The same day another was listed, it had 6 bids on it. Another appeared several days later, already with a contingency. I looked at a house on a Saturday and the realtor told me that because it had no offers, he was going to suggest to the bank that they lower the price. Wednesday, it happened and they lowered the price about 35%. I went back about 3PM that day to take a second look and wouldn’t you know another realtor was there already and another one had been there previously that day.

What I learned that if the real gems hit the MLS, it’s too late or you’ll pay close to market.