1st short sale and having difficulty!!

HELLO and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I am a newbie to short sales and I am working on my first deal but I am having a hard time getting in contact with a loss mitigation rep.
I called the bank customer service department and asked to be connected to the loss mitigation department, but I was put on hold for at least an hour. Then when I called back another customer service agent gave me the number to a loan counselor who I have been leaving messages and playing phone tag with for 2 weeks. Finally, once I talked to her she told me to fax my package in but the 3 fax numbers she gave me are always busy. To make a long story short, it’s been a month now and I still have not talked to a loss mitigation rep yet. The homeowner I am doing the short sale for has received his foreclosure notice and his property will be sold in 30 days.
WHAT AM I DOING WRONG? What do I need to do or who else do I need to call to talk to a loss mitigation rep?
Please help.

Who’s the lender? Is their a first and second?

Thank you! I didn’t think I would get a response tonight. But the lender is CitiMortage and there is no second lender.

Haven’t worked with them but try these #'s.

CitiFinancial Mortgage 800-422-1498, 800-753-3673
CitiMortgage Inc. 636-256-5088, 800-695-0384x5088, for FHA 301-696-5127
Or 301-696-4473 fax
CitiMortgage 866-558-3662, 800-422-1498, 800-283-7918, 800-926-9783

Sorry I cant be more help!