What would you do if NO ONE gave you ANYTHING? or how I started with $1000

From time to time I see the “What would you do if someone gave you $100,000 or $1,000,000?” posts here. I think they are a good way to get insight into how other investors move money around. I also think it would be valuable if we explained what we would do with $5,000 or $10,000 of HARD EARNED MONEY. This is money that a person may have worked for years to save. What would you do with it?

I’ll start…

What I did was FIND PROPERTY. I was a contractor at the time (1980’s) and spent money every month advertising for my business. It consistantly brought in good leads. I decided to run a small ad looking to buy houses that needed work. The first deal I ever did was a straight option. I learned about these from a seasoned investor. My risk was very low, ($1000) which was good, because I didn’t want to borrow money to buy a house I wasn’t POSITIVE I could sell.
I received a call from an elderly lady whose house needed various repairs and updates. She thought a realtor wouldn’t be interested because of that. We agreed that she would give me 30 days to bring in a buyer and for that I would give her $1000 that day if she signed an option agreement. If I didn’t have a buyer in 30 days she was on her own to do what she wanted. The home was a 3 bed ranch. At the time these houses were selling for $50,000, she wanted $25,000. I paid her $1000 for the option and brought in a buyer who was looking for a rental property. He agreed to buy it for $38,000. I simply assigned my $25,000 option to him at my attorneys office and made $13,000 on my $1000 investment and it was all done in 10 days!

I found another one 6 months later and made $10,000 the same way. I was not living on this money so it all got put in the bank. 2 deals and now I had enough to actually BUY my first home outright with OTHER PEOPLES MONEY!