Wholesale questions! New Investor

Hello Everyone!

I found this site a week ago and I am having a hard time getting any work done because I am reading too much info on here. I am a licensed agent in Ohio. I am 24 yrs old and have been “selling” real estate for almost 4 yrs. Obviously the investing side of real estate is what fuels me. However ( I know everyone has heard this one), I have little cash and bad credit. I understand that I can still find creative ways to invest. Wholesaling is something that I find truly interesting. A few questions I have about wholesaling:

1. If I give 60 days to close and have an assignment clause, what if I cannot find an investor to assign the deal to? Are there any clauses that I can add to cover myself. If I cant assign it I can’t finance it myself. I would think that an option might work best, but I never see anyone say anything about that.
  2. Would it be best to run an ad to build a buyers list before getting the first property “under contract”?

I really appreciate any help that you can provide.
I am tired of sitting on the fence reading about people being successful at REI, and I am ready to dive in and make my own success story.

Zack

You can build in one or two escape clauses…1)subject to partners approval or (2)subject to financing.

Since you want to assign the contract you may want to ensure you have a clause for “right to show”. This way you can walk other investors through that may want to purchase the property.

Hope this helps.

For your success,
Joe

Alot of people use the subject to financing clause, however if you are looking for a general out the financing clause won’t work unless you truly can’t get financing and have more than one letter saying you can’t be funded for the property. Best to go with the partner approval or somethign to do with a favorable inspection report.