HELP - Questions on possible first deal

First of all, I am brand new to the REI field. There is a property a few houses away from my residence that I am interested in. Here is the rundown so far as I know it. The house has been abandoned since last year (The previous owner has a new home furnsihed by the state and a new roomate named Bubba) According to the county auditors website, the house was recently purchased for $40,000, (from what I can tell at a Sheriff’s auction). I haven’t been on the inside, but it looks as if the house is need of some repairs, definetly a good painting and cleaning. It’s not run down, but you can tell it has been un-occupied for a while. The house next door is identical and sold for $72,000 in 2002. Acoording to the auditors website, the houses which are similiar to this seem to have been sold in the $68,000 - $73,000 range, even though I could not find any recent sells. The house in question is currently for sale, it seems as is. There has not been any work done as I can tell and I have never seen anyone working on it. After all of this, my question is; from this information, what would be a reasonable asking price for this if I decide to contract it and assign it? Also, if I decide to bird dog this house, what is my next step and how do I protect myself from an investor purchasing the home out from under me. Any information will be helpful.

Well if the house was purchased for only $40k that means someone of an investor or lender variety bought it back. If the house doesn’thave some sort of a sign on it at present you need to get in touch with the new owner and see if they are wanting to sell it.

If an investor bought it and does not want to do repairs and resell he may sell it to you for up to $5,000 more than what he paid.

Yes, there is a for sale sign in the front yard. The county website states the owner as a bank, but it has a Sheriffs deed. Thanks for the info.

Sheriff Sale;