wholesaling for landlord properties

hello,
i am new at wholesaling and i have a question. my first wholesale deal was to a landlord. he was stating that the 70% arv rule does not apply to landlord properties.
all the training i have listened to always talks about 70%. do you know if there is a different way you do landlord properties when figuring the value?

Most rentals are sold to new landlords at retail. That’s unfortunate for them because it dooms the landlord to failure, but that it is the reality of the situation. Since this is the largest group of buyers of rental property, then yes, you could certainly sell some properties to landlords at prices above the 70% rule.

On the other hand, successful landlords WILL be buying at 70% (or less) of market value. Without buying at a big discount, landlords will have negative cash flow and subsequently fail.

So, you are right - successful landlords will certainly be buying below 70% of the market value. The landlord that you talked to was also right - there is a never-ending supply of newbies who pay too much for their rentals and then fail in a short period of time.

Good Luck,

Mike