Rent Proposal -- Who Wins????

I’ve been studying real estate investing for almost two years and very interested in wholesaling initially, then buying & holding – I have not done my first deal yet but I know it will be soon!! I’m currently in the market for another home for myself – I need to move soon! I found a home in my neighborhood that I can lease that’s been on the market since March 2007. The homeowner’s selling price is much more than I can afford to pay – asking $275,00 but tax-assessed value is $200,000 – will lease it at $1,550/month. The homeowner lives in California, not motivated to sell, and waiting for market to pick up in Dallas area. There’s nothing about this house that’s outstanding. The home needs upgrades, i.e., granite countertops, top-of-the-line appliances, paint and special wall treatments, light fixtures and a landscaping overhaul, all of which would really add a lot of value to the home and increase its appeal to buyers and get close to what the seller wants.

I would love to propose a lease/purchase but lease/purchases are illegal in Texas. I would like to propose a win-win situation whereby I can live in their home and rent it for approximately $550/month in exchange for me taking care of all interior and exterior maintenance (up to $500), pay utilities, carry $300,000 of renter’s insurance, paint and furnish the house tastefully, oversee landscaping and care for the entire property, allow their current realtor to keep the house on the market and show it while I’m renting. I want to exchange my “sweat equity” and decorating skills for a reduction in rent so I can save up some money for a down payment on a home in a year.

My questions for all you creative gurus and seasoned investors are:

[b]What will be the advantages and disadvantages for the seller/landlord?

What expenses are usually incurred when a homeowner rents out their home?