Why are tenants hard are rentals?

I have been renting to some decent tenants for the past 5 months. I have no complaints about them aside form their general housekeeping. They’re not slobs by any means but I would prefer they be neater.
While replacing a thru-the-wall A/C I noticed that they have chipped some corners, dirtied the rug, have fingerprints on the wall, and, again, could be a little more tidy. Also the screen door closer has somehow been bent, and a door stop has broken and the knob has put a little dent/hole in the wall. :banghead
I realize that renters do not “own” the property, therefore they might not care as much about it. I, however, have rented an apartment before and even though I didn’t “own” it, it was where I lived. I wanted it neat and kept it that way. Maybe it’s the way I was raised…who knows.
Don’t renters have any respect for themselves or others? What is their thinking? It boogles my mind.

Ever rent a car???

Did you take care of it like your own? I think your right in some respect,
it comes down to how you were raised. Most tenants treat peoperty the way most people treat rental cars, “It’s not mine, so who cares, their making money on it anyway” I don’t agree with that way of thinking but it is the reality in most cases.

IMHO most renters rent because that is the only choice they have. Therefore they feel justified in taking it out on you - the landlord - that not only owns their own home but additional property that you rent to them. They resent having to pay you basically and the only way to even the score is to beat up your property. I know I’m generalizing and that there are lots of good renters out there but this has been my experience.

I have three rental units and I’ve seen my parents rent out an extra home they’ve had for over 30 years, so I’ve seen lots of tenants come and go.