Foreclosure rate is up R.E.O. is out

I recently (like today) looked at time spent per deal. Then I looked at profit margin per deal. You know what I found? you know where I make the least amount of money and spend the most time on! You gussed it Foreclosure! Now I have been doing them for almost 10 years! from short sale, to bidding at the auction, to mailers, to knocking doors! So I am going to try something new here I am going to leave this very open ended! I want someone to tell me where I should focus my time! After I see some of the feedback I will tell you where I found the best deals and why!

Remember I am not doing this to be rude I just want this to be a thinking thing!

Howdy All:

I too have spent a lot of time chasing preforeclosures in the past. I like REO’s. The last house I bought needed $60,000 in rehab and they owed $120,000 to the mortgage company and $12,000 in back property tax and only worth $153,000 after rehab. Can you visualize trying to contact this owner and making a deal. He was a truly motivated seller but so what. We bought the house for $24,000. I now have a few Realtors calling me that have REOs for sale before even listed on MLS or even a sign in the yard. Thus did not happen overnight but makes finding deals easier. When you can get deals chasing you that is the ultimate

So if you buy it for $24.000.How do you get the 120.000 owed to the bank forgiven???

Ted did not have to worry about that. He bought the property from the lender after they took it in foreclosure.

I, too, have been buying foreclosures since 1986. Though I am not as aggressive as REO, I would run across one or two VA or HUD foreclosures a year that I would try to pick up. Sometimes I was the winning bidder, sometimes not. The properties I did purchase turned out to be great cash flow properties.