Protecting my contract

Hi,
When I have a signed contract with the homeowner(seller) & I have a 5 day right to cancel, when should I show house to potential investors(buyers)? How do I protect my contract, as a newbie I haven’t any “history” with anyone. Is there anything I can record to put a cloud on the title?
Thanks for all your help!
Suzanne Barber

Howdy Suzanne:

Why do you want to cloud the title? 5 days is a fast free look period. You should have asked for more time. Hard to find a buyer in 5 days unless it is a no brainer deal. How much earnest money do you have at risk? If you have more than a few hundred you had best back out of the deal unless it is really sweet and you can close it yourself.

The few wholesalers I know only use about $100 and do not care as much about the free look. They put ads in the paper and get many potential ads to get investors climbing all over the property. It helps to buy a vacant property otherwise showing to many potential buyers would be crazy. Most just have a combo lockbox and do not even meet the buyers until they call the second time showing more interest.

I hope I helped a bit. Plesae ask more questions or get a mentor or something to help make it easier and more fun. You sound a bit stressed. It has to be fun other wise you will not love it.

Hi Ted,
Thanks for the reply, the 5 day right to cancel is for the homeowner. I ask for a 30 day close in the contract. My concern is having a buyer/investor who may try to steal the deal from me. In talking to other newbies, it’s happened to them when they give the address out for investors to drive by. The investor talked to the homeowner and bought the house.
I just wanted to know how to protect my contract while working with new investor/buyers.