how do you find out?

hi, im a beginner wholesaler and i saw this property today it was vacant and had wooden boards on the windows. i was wondering how would i find out information about the house if nobody lives there? i want 2 find out if its a foreclose home etc… And also when i want 2 make a offer on a pre foreclose house and assign it to a investor, do i have 2 get the house appraise first? and if i get the house appraise that means im coming out my pocket to pay for that appraisal. how can i avoid paying for that process?

thankx…

Call your local title company and tell them you want a O and E or Ownership and Encumberance on the property it will tell you owners name and all liens on the property. This is a great place to start… There is no point in getting it appraised until you know how much is owed on the property if it worth the price and how much work is involved. Your county records will tell you who owns the house but not how much is owed…

P.S. what city is it in?

Im located in New York. Say if i find out how much is owed on the property and its good enough profit to assign to the investor, will i have to pay to get it appraise or the investor will? is it any other way to find out how much the property is worth…?

Howdy Focusonmoney:

These days lenders actually order the appraisals. They either have an appraiser on staff or they want the appraisal from one that they approve. Do not order your own appraisal. Let your buyer deal with his lender and their appraiser.