College Town Rentals/condos?

I’m extremely new to the business as far as doing the deals myself is concerned. I’m a tax accountant in Dallas and I’ve seen clients make some money renting.

I have two partners that I went to school with and we have a little money and I started an LLC for us. We’re going to start funding for a down payment and looking for a good property over the next few months.

My thoughts were

1. Look in Waco, close to Baylor, where I went to college. I know the market fairly well from the lessor side and have a brother there in law school who can do some leg work for me.

2. We looked at one condo, but it wasn’t priced to cash flow. The management fees ($253/month) seemed to be the deal killer, no matter what interest rates/down payment/sales price I ran. Is this typical? I know lots of parents buy these for their kids to live in, knowing they’re not throwing away rent money.

3. We’re not getting into this for the appreciation. We’d like to acquire many rentals over the next 10 years or so and eventually form a management company of our own.

4. We are also looking at older houses close to campus. I lived in two, and they are popular for fraternity guys and sorority gals. I realize, being a college student 3 years ago, that we don’t make the best tennants. However, Baylor has grown and I think we’d have alot less vacancy than going out into a neighborhood here in Dallas.

Any thoughts/suggestions?