Why section 8?

I notice a lot of posters here own Sec. 8 properties. Why? (I’m a total novice, so sorry for the ignorant question) Is it due to the lower entry point? Are there advantages that compensate for what I would imagine are HUGE headaches that come from owning and renting this type of property? Personal preference(a niche, if you will)? I always thought it would be better to have a hotel on Park Place than a lot of little houses on Baltic Ave.
Thanks, and sorry again for the ‘duh’ question.
Michael

Why?? Don’t you think the FIRST and most IMPORTANT order of the rental business is getting your rent like clockwork from the most creditworthy customers.

You get rent checks like clockwork from the govenment in section 8, and who’s more creditworthy than the Federal govenment. And you get the rent even if the tenant is out of work, sitting home all day watching TV.

Personally, I looked into doing section 8, but didn’t care for the area that I have to work in or the type of tenants I’ll have to deal with, especially here in the northeast. In some areas, section 8 tenants can be very nice people just fallen on hard times.

We screen sections 8 tenants thoroughly like the rest of our tenants and have a lot of success with the program. Get good tenants and guaranteed payment of rent.

I have two properties that are section 8. The other posters were correct in saying the number 1 thing is getting rent every month. Section 8 always pays, even if the tenant loses their job.

The only bad thing is that a Section 8 inspector has to inspect your property every year. You then have to fix anything they find. Things like 1 smoke detector per floor, broken windows, etc. These are things that should be fixed and brought up to code anyways.

Well, guaranteed rent is a bit of a stretch. Section 8 normally only pays a portion of the rent and the tenant pays the rest. The only portion of the rent that is “guaranteed” is the Section 8 portion. Even that is not guaranteed.