What to do with Refi or HELOC

Let me start out by stating I am new to Real Estate Investing

I have a property I bought years ago, paid it off fully years ago and now enjoy some Passive Income, but ALL done by complete accident. (God I love Real Estate…even Stupid people like me can make money)

Now as you wonderful folks educate me, I am thinking that I should either do a 1st Mortgage or check on taking a HELOC against the equity in the place. I want to have this available for investment into ‘Other’ properties, Carry costs, closing costs, Capital improvements etc…

Property is in Florida with Estimated Value $385-$390K

So my questions are: (There may be more so if you respond feel free to add advice)

1. Which one is better? (tax purposes, interest rates etc)
  2. Do I need to do this with a local to property lender? Or any National lender will do?
  3. What interest rate would I be looking at?
  4. Any recommendation(s) for Lender with low interest rate?
  5. What Percent LTV should I expect? (60, 70, 80%)

Thanks in Advance…

:help:

I would recommend a HELOC. The LTV you can get is based on if this is a primary home or investment property you want to take it out. I am gathering it is investment now since you have income from it.

HELOC will be better since you have low closing cost (less than $500 many times) and it acts like a credit card. You can draw money as you need from it with many institutes and make payments on the borrowed money instead of all of it. So when you find a deal and you need the cash, you can grab it to close quick. Interest rates are around 8-9% I believe now. Many banks offer interest only HELOC as well so you do not have to make principal payments on the money. You can always use a HELOC to get the property and then refi it into a loan when ready and pay off the HELOC.