Whose responsibility....seller or buyer?

I am a new investor. I purchased my first property from an inverstor. the property was a new rehab from top to bottom. being that I was a rookie at buying property, I missed certain things that the house needed in order for section 8 to pass it for inspection. Those things were: railings on the stairs of the common areas, drainage pipes for the gutters, carbon monoxide detectors, shoots for the water heaters, window borders, among a few other things. whose responsibility is it to fix those things up, the buying investor or selling investor?

If you already bought it they are your responsibilty. If you haven’t you can work something out in the agreement to have him fix it presale or reduce the price to accomodate those repairs.

ummm, good info. thanks

EVERYTHING in RE is negotiable!!!

Keith

Not post sale…

True…my point is that NOTHING is the specific responsibility of either party.

If however, the building meets the building codes, etc. the seller may balk at making changes to insure that the new owner passes his Section 8 inspection. For example, CO detectors are not required by code…if I’m the seller, I’m not going to pay for those so that the buyer can meet Section 8 rules…

Most of what’s on this list is piddley anyway.

Keith

Depending on the state that you’re in, it sounds like you’re too late. Typically these things would be negotiated before the purchase and sale agreement was signed. If you didn’t notice any of them, then you’re stuck with it.