Marginal Tax Rates and Self-Employment Tax rates

I have a question for tax professinals out there. If I earn a yearly salary of $40,000 dollars and I flip a property and earn $38,000 dollars for the year. I will be subject to ordinary income tax rates and SE tax rates. Since I make a salary of $40,000 dollars, I will be taxed in the 25% marginal tax bracket. On the $38,000 I earned from the flip I will have to pay SE taxes that are approximately 15%. Do I have to pay an additional 25% (marginal tax rates) and the 15% (SE tax rate) on the $38,000 gained on the flip?

Thanks for the feedback

I am not a tax professional. Since you have not received a response yet, let me take a stab at it.

The short answer is yes.

Look at your paycheck from your job. You have withholdings for income taxes withheld every pay period. Also, you have withholdings for social security and medicare taxes every pay period.

Your income tax withholding is based on your gross pay and maybe you get a portion back as a refund when you file your income tax return. The employee share of the social security and medicare taxes (the payroll taxes) are also computed on your gross pay and withheld from your paycheck.

The same thing happens when you are both the employer and the employee. Your self-employment income is subject to both income taxes at your marginal tax bracket rate, AND the same social security and medicare taxes (payroll taxes) you see on your paycheck at work. When your income is called self-employment income, we call these payroll taxes that you pay as both the employer and the employee a self-employment income tax.

You can use your 25% marginal tax bracket rate and the self-employment income tax rate of 15.3% to estimate the federal tax you might owe on your self-employment income at 40.3%. However, in practice when you get done with all the computations and your deductions, the effective tax rate is often lower