Struggling w/ Advice

An investor who is trying to help me get going in rei has suggested that I start out by puting deals together for local investors for a fee. He’s suggesting that I find properties and create a portfolio that would include CMA, photos, estimated repairs, etc. and charge $3,500 to do this. I’m having a hard time understanding how this would work. What other information would an investor want in this property portfolio?

To be honest, I’m having a hard time with this concept. I don’t really want to pass deals on to others. However, I have my first rei – a sfh rehab – for sale and it hasn’t sold yet. The advice I’m getting is to not purchase any more property until my first house sells.

Your thoughts on the advice I’ve been given would could be helpful.

I am a newbie as well, but I’ve done a few contract assignments, which is what it sounds like was suggested to you. Here’s what I do normally:

Once I get the seller under contract and submit it to my title company with escrow money, I contact all of the buyers on my buyers list, and I give them the specifics of the deal (no address). If they are interested, I tell them I will have an open house at a specific day and time, and I call them with the address one hour before the open house starts. I open it for 2 hours (I give the seller a $20 gift card to a resturant of their choice and send them away), and then I ask all sellers to submit their best offer to me before noon the following day. Whoever makes the best offer, I write up an assignment contract with that buyer, and submit it to my title company. This method usually yields a better assignment fee than if I would have asked for a specific amount myself. I typically get $3K to $6K depending on how good the deal is. This method also allows the buyers to evaluate any needed rehab/upgrades themselves so they know what they are up against.