typical tax approaches of flippers

if your business is just buying houses cheap and selling retail, and you go through a good amount in a year, what exactly are your best strategies for reducing taxes?

i’m not looking for someone to hold my hand and explain them to me, i’m just confused as to what the actual strategies are. 1031’s seem to be too complex and inefficient for someone who moves through, say, 10 houses a year, but i’m a newb so who knows maybe that is the way.

As a flipper you will pay ordinary income tax on your profit. Your properties will be considered inventory just like you were buying and selling TV’s or something. Therefore you have very few if any tax loopholes available. 1031’s are used to defer capital gains tax which you will not have.

there’s really not a lot of loopholes? the guy who runs my local REI club always boasts about how little taxes he pays, and i know flipping / rehabs are the core of his business.

of course he is always trying to sell ~3K courses, so who knows how much credibility should be placed on anything he says

You cannot use a 1031 for flipping…you need to have owned the property a year and it is used (as Danny noted) to defer long-term Capital Gains to a new property…

Keith

and that would be the only option out there to do anything to lower taxes?

We can’t, in good conscious, tell you specifically how to reduce your taxes…that is a very individual thing based on scads of different factors. There are dozens of ways to shelter income against taxes…we simply don’t have enough data on you, your business, etc…

It all seems pretty speculative anyway in that you haven’t done any REI business that needs shelter.

Perhaps you should confer with a CPA/Financial Advisor…?

Keith