Wholesalers Please Help!

Greetings:

I am a newbie trying to understand the wholesale process.

I am posting this in the hope that anyone will correct me where I am wrong in my thinking or processes. I am trying to create a roadmap to success and avoid as many pitfalls as possible by controlling the wholesaling process from beginning to end. I live in Idaho and intend to close through a title company that will also provide escrow services.

Here are the steps as I currently understand them:

1. Find Abandonded House/FSBO/Distressed Property that I can wholesale.

2. Track Down Owner

3. Meet With Owner

4. Make Offer/Counter Offer/Negotiate Price

5. Once They Accept Offer -

6. Sign Contract to Purchase Property. Make sure the contract includes the words “and/or assigns” after your name. The language would look like this: “From Sally Homeowner to Joe Buyer and/or assigns”. Also make sure that you include in the contract you are purchasing the home in “As Is” condition, with no guarantee or warranty. This will protect you if the person to whom you assign the contract is subsequently unhappy with the condition of the house.

7. Give A $10.00 Deposit to Owner and a promise to close in 60 days.

8. Start Title Work - Contact title company. Title company orders a title search and you schedule a settlement date with them. Make sure you order a Title Insurance Binder so that the person you assign the contract to does not have to pay for another title search when he rehabs/flips the house.

9. Begin Marketing to Find Buyer: Contact people on your buyers list via email/fax/telephone. Run classified ad for property in Real Estate/Investment Properties section of classifieds.

10. Meet Buyer/Negotiate Price/Agree on Price.

11. Qualify Prospective Buyer: Ask for proof of funds if they have cash or line of credit. Will they borrow the money from private, (hard money) lender?