Co-Signer

I have been renting houses for about 5 years now and have never had to consider having a cosigner for an applicant until now. I have a recent college graduate who is looking for a job (doesn’t have one yet) who wants to rent from me. She’s stated her parents are willing to co-sign on a rental application for her.

Has anyone had to deal with co-signers? What process did you use (i.e., application/credit check for the co-signer), did you have them on the lease also? Was there a point during the tenancy that you released the co-signer from responsibility? Did you have any problems with collecting rent from the co-signer?

Any reponse would be appreciated…

I don’t rent to people if their last residence was mom’s home or college dorm. That includes young kids and older people that had to move back in with mom for some problem. If she doesn’t qualify, I tell her so and keep looking.

People that are out on their own for the first time have not gotten their minds around the concept of the hierarchy of payments. In other words they have always been able to spend their money on whatever they wanted to and even if they ran out of money, they could still go home. When they are on their own, they have to pay for home first (meaning my rent) and then everything else. I let them figure that out on somebody other than me.

I understand that she has to start somewhere, but not with me.

Thank you.

Now, my question again – is there anyone who HAS/do deal with cosigner situations?

-B

Yes just put them on the lease / application and treat as a co tenant. If parents own thier on home you could not get better security since they would be easy to locate and collect from compared to a lot of other tenants.

I currently have two tenants with whom I’ve included a rent guarantee form. One is a college couple, and the other is a VERY mature single woman.