Introduction of a newbie

Hi
1st i would like to introduce myself to the rei club forums, i am a newbie at all this everything you guys talk about is so foreign to me. I have bought 300$ worth of books to get me started, the thing that got me started was the robert kiyosaki books the rich dad poor dad stuff.

Im currently serving in the US army and have about another 2 more years left, i plan on using my VA loan to buy mt 1st house/property. It all seems to very overhwelming looking at those big numbers 150k,200k,500k etc… numbers scare me but im slowly getting over of the fear. My rank is pretty low so i try to save all the money i can.

I would like to ask for some advice or tips to look out for when buying your 1st house.

Hello,

Buying your first is big step for most people, I would know.  Because I was in real estate sales for many years.  My husband and I brought our first home when we were 22 with a VA loan.   With VA loan you do not need down payment.  Make sure you buy cheap and the right location.  You make your money when you buy it, not when you sell it.  Air Force moves us 5 more time before he retired.  We always brought and sold every station.  We are able trade in bigger and bigger house    Make sure you keep your credit clean.  If you do, you do not need any money for your first home.  But you still need the income to qualify.  Good luck!!!!

Sounds like you are on the right track. Even with a non-down payment VA loan, it is a great idea to have as much in savings as possible. This will only strengthen your credit rating (as long as you are not racking up credit card debt etc) and act as a large security blanket in the even of a financial downturn.

As to buying your first home, first determine how long you will hold the house as your residence. If it is less than 3 years, then you need to determine if you will hold the house as a rental or sell it.