HUD buying / investing

Hi,

I’m very new to this forum. This is my first post. I’m currently a broke law student who has decided to look at investment options. I’m pretty sure that I want to get into real estate and I like the idea of getting a HUD house - guaranteed most of the rent from the government :slight_smile:

I’ve been looking at the HUD website (at www.hud.gov) and I’ve read several websites about the subject. I think I know what HUD investment is (aka section 8, housing choice vouchers - right?). I think I’m also familiar with the advantages and disadvantages of owning a HUD house.

So, here’s the first of my problem: I don’t have any money. Should I just wait until I graduate next year before I purchase my first home or do you guys recommend one of those programs that teaches you how you can buy a home with no money down or with bad credit?

By the way, how much more difficult it is succeed in HUD investing with bad credit?

Notwithanding the above, I’m trying to convince my mom to get into buying section 8 housing. FYI - I’m equating HUD to section 8 or housing choice vouchers. If it’s not the same thing, then please let me know. She has great credit (although she just bought her new house that she’s living in so that might affect her trying to buy another one) and she has some money that should be enough to at least make a down payment on a house. So, even if you think I should wait a year when I’ll have a full-time job, then please still help me because I’m also trying to do the research for my mom.

I can see this is going to be a long post and so I apologize in advance.

Realistically speaking, how much money would you say I should try and have before I seriously start to take a look at HUD investing?