Commercial Real Estate - Typical Transaction Fees

Hi,
I’m rather new to commercial real estate and am particularly interested in purchasing mid-size multi-family units and / or office space. What are the typcial fees associated with a transaction like this? From what I’ve been reading there could be lawyer, accountant, broker, property manager etc fees.

Thanks,
Mike

Mike,

It depends upon how you go about the transaction and what Lenders you use. Are you doing small commercial $100K - $1M or larger projects?

Hi Rod,
I’ll probably focus on small commercial to start off with since I don’t have prior transaction experience or a team of professionals.

Hi Mike,

It is really hard to give you a figure for fees, because they will vary across the U.S.

Attorney: Will the attorney set-up your company (C-corp, LLC, etc)? Will the attorney review your contracts & leases? These fees can start adding up quickly, especially if you are using a law firm. I would go to your local REIA meeting and network to see who is using what attornies. Real estate investors tend to be a cheap lot, so we tend to find the cheapest out there. There was an attorney in my group who gave discounts for simple items (setting up LLC’s and reviewing contracts).

Broker: Most Brokers get paid at closing, so you shouldn’t have any up front fees. However, the lenders do have some upfront fees, such as credit reports, appraisals, etc. Depending on the property type and loan amount this can vary from $2,000 to $5,000. There will also be additional fees at closing. For a rule of thumb, closing costs are 3% - 5% of loan amount. The broker should disclose all the fees to you before closing.

Property Management: Their fees can range from 5% - 10% of gross lease amounts. If you have the time and the property is local, I would not use a mangement company. Your REIA meeting is also a good place to find property managment companies.