Real Estate bubble hype

I see periodically on these message boards topics that are related to ‘declining values’ or ‘real estate bubble’.

Please don’t by into the media hype that you read in Money Magazine or other publications.

Before I get into some thoughts, let me preface this by saying I’m relatively new to real estate investing privately but I have worked for a wholesale mortgage lender for several years. I am an underwriter and review property transactions all over the country (well, we don’t lend much in the Northeast so I can’t speak for that specifically) including Arizona, California, and Florida (three of the top 10 real estate markets for appreciation).

That being said there are some things to consider when wading through the real estate articles on the internet, watching news reports or reading other publications.

First: Death, Destruction, Mayhem and Fear are what sell. Without commenting on why this is the case (that’s a whole different discussion) just remember that the things you read, the shows you watch, etc are all trying to get ratings / viewers. Stories about how everything is just great, life is wonderful, hope springs eternal just don’t have the same ‘bite’ that stories of ‘Impending Danger, tune it at 11 to see how YOU could be affected!’ have.

Second: The real estate collapses that these experts predict are almost always validated by a story of how prices for real estate collapsed in ‘X’ year in certain areas. The part that is often overlooked is the ‘WHY’. In virtually every instance of overwhelming depreciation in homes, the economics of the area are what caused this. Take for instance the Oil price drop in the mid 80’s. That took a toll on housing prices in Houston, TX. The area dropped about 21% during that time. This is just one example, but you get the picture.